Post 9 – When I’m not Fucking Things Up

I ended up settling for a Schwinn Varsity I found on craigslist for 40$. Maybe not worth it, but everything else fitting the qualifications resided in Boston and cost $100+.

Sheldon Brown (rest his soul) hosts quite an article about these Schwinn’s along with his own article about Chicago Schwinns. It’s long and technical, but basically:

  • They’re heavy. Really heavy. And bomb resistant.
  • Millions were produced.
  • One-piece cranks

So far I’ve stripped it down (save for the chain due the fact I wasn’t able to bring my tools with me). I was able to remove the one-piece crank because all you need is a large adjustable wrench and a reverse threaded mindset. So I have it stripped, and I have access to an electric sander. What took me about 30 minutes to sand down using the sander I spent about 2 and a half days by hand on the last Schwinn I (almost) fixed up:

So I get finished a good bit of sanding, pack up and leave. We are driving not 50 yds when I see this sitting on the side of the road:


An old Raleigh Grand Prix. I walk up to the house, make sure it’s free, and get ready to walk it back since we can’t put it in the car. My uncle happens to have a car powered bike pump (which I had never seen before), so I pumped up the tires in about 10 seconds, and I rode it back to the house we’re fixing up. Aside from some gear shifting issues, it was wonderful considering I had hitherto not ridden for roughly a month. Anything to keep my mind occupied.

~ by blitzgren on June 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
